Faculty

Professors (Academic Senate Faculty)
Name / Email / Office Research Areas
rebekka's picture
Andersen, Rebekka
Associate Professor
randersen@ucdavis.edu
Associate Director, Professional Writing (UWP 104, Professional Writing Minor) / Personnel Committee
365 Voorhies
Technical communication, focusing on content management and academia-industry partnerships; professional writing research and pedagogy; multimodal literacies; research-practice/theory-practice connections
kching's picture
Ching, Kory Lawson
Assistant Professor
kching@ucdavis.edu
Associate Director, Online Writing Instruction
Voorhies 385
writing technologies, digital literacies, composition pedagogy, teacher preparation, qualitative research methods, socio-cultural theories of literacy and learning
drferris's picture
Ferris, Dana
Professor
drferris@ucdavis.edu
Director of the University Writing Program
116 Voorhies
second language literacy, teacher preparation, responding to student writing
dlmelzer's picture
Melzer, Dan
Professor
dlmelzer@ucdavis.edu
Associate Director, First-Year Composition / Personnel Committee
377 Voorhies
writing across the curriculum, writing program administration, multiliteracies
pcservis's picture
Serviss, Trish
Associate Professor
pcserviss@ucdavis.edu
Associate Director, Entry-Level Writing
358 Voorhies
developmental writing, academic source use, writing placement & assessment, feminist rhetorical practices, writing program design and administration, teacher preparation, longitudinal literacy development (1st Gen STEM majors), hybrid research methods.
whithaus's picture
Whithaus, Carl
Professor
cwwhithaus@ucdavis.edu
Chair for the DE in Writing, Rhetoric, and Composition Studies
Voorhies 371
Writing Technologies; Digital Cultures; Writers and their Writing Processes; Science Writing, including Writing in Agriculture; Writing Assessment; Professional and Technical Writing; Multimodal Composition; Critical Pedagogy; the Pacific Rim (Writing and Globalization); Writing and RPGs; Rhetorics and Poetics; Histories of Books and Publishing
Lecturers (Academic Federation Faculty)
Name / Email / Office Research Areas
sashaabr's picture
Abramsky, Sasha
Continuing Lecturer
sabramsky@ucdavis.edu

350 Voorhies
kenander's picture
Andersen, Ken
Continuing Lecturer
kenandersen@ucdavis.edu

112 Voorhies
ktflake's picture
Arosteguy, Katie
Continuing Lecturer
karosteguy@ucdavis.edu
Coordinator, Writing Ambassadors Program
114 Voorhies
Writing in education; teacher education/preparation; professional writing pedagogy; portrayal of gender/motherhood in American literature & popular culture
jazevedo's picture
Azevedo, Jillian
Continuing Lecturer
jazevedo@ucdavis.edu
Editor, Prized Writing
369 Voorhies
mmbender's picture
Bender, Melissa
Continuing Lecturer
mmbender@ucdavis.edu
WAC Consultant / Personnel Committee
311 Voorhies
Writing pedagogy with special interest in rhetorical approaches to disciplinary composition and source work; rhetoric of health and medicine; visual and material rhetoric; the rhetoric of public history; U.S. memoir and life writing.
claytonb's picture
Benjamin, Clayton
Lecturer
cjbenjamin@ucdavis.edu

Shields 87C
asbright's picture
Bright, Alison
Continuing Lecturer
asbright@ucdavis.edu

309 Voorhies
drcarp's picture
Carpenter, Russ
Lecturer
carpenter@ucdavis.edu
kmcaslin's picture
Caslin, Kate
Continuing Lecturer
kmcaslin@ucdavis.edu

368 Voorhies
amclarke's picture
Clarke, Amy
Continuing Lecturer
amclarke@ucdavis.edu
Associate Director, Advanced Composition (UWP 101)
364 Voorhies
Narrative Medicine, Scientific Writing, Feminist Rhetoric
dlolseen's picture
Collins, Daina
Lecturer
dlcollins@ucdavis.edu

Shields 87C
kacrosby's picture
Crosby, Kelly
Continuing Lecturer
kacrosby@ucdavis.edu
Associate Director, English for Multilingual Students
354 Voorhies
Second language writing, writing assessment, curriculum design
cindavis's picture
Davis, Cindy
Lecturer
cindavis@ucdavis.edu

Shields 87C
jimdavis's picture
Davis, James
Continuing Lecturer
jimdavis@ucdavis.edu

Shields 87a
bdemchuk's picture
Demchuk, Dana
Lecturer
bdemchuk@ucdavis.edu

Shields 87C
smyrni's picture
Dragona, Aliki
Continuing Lecturer
apdragona@ucdavis.edu

375 Voorhies
jcelias's picture
Elias, Julian
Continuing Lecturer
jelias@ucdavis.edu

370 Voorhies
sefaye's picture
Faye, Sarah
Continuing Lecturer
sefaye@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 360
egfoss's picture
Foss, Emily
Continuing Lecturer
egfoss@ucdavis.edu

376 Voorhies
gaglazne's picture
Glazner, Greg
Continuing Lecturer
gaglazner@ucdavis.edu

Voorhees 283
goodbide's picture
Goodman-Bide, Amy
Lecturer
agoodmanbide@ucdavis.edu
WAC Consultant
Shields 87C
kegosset's picture
Gossett, Kathie
Lecturer
kegossett@ucdavis.edu
Assistant Director, Graduate Writing
Online Only
Multimedia Writing/Composition, Graduate Writing, Digital Dissertations, User Experience Theory & Practice, Medieval Rhetoric & Gothic Design
cahatzak's picture
Hatzakos, Catherine
Lecturer
cahatzakos@ucdavis.edu

370 Voorhies
tyl6r's picture
Heid, Tyler
Lecturer
taheid@ucdavis.edu

Shields 87C
chemstro's picture
Hemstrom, Cassie
Continuing Lecturer
chemstrom@ucdavis.edu
Coordinator, Professional Writing Internships
Voorhies 381
Community-based writing, rhetorical approaches to genre and audience, information literacy and writing pedagogy, identity theory and critical race theory.
bhenders's picture
Henderson, Brad
Continuing Lecturer
bhenderson@ucdavis.edu
WAC Consultant
366 Voorhies
ypssucd's picture
Herring, Scott
Continuing Lecturer
srherring@ucdavis.edu

356 Voorhies
jbhorton's picture
Horton, Joseph
Lecturer
jbhorton@ucdavis.edu
Coordinator, Advanced Composition Exam
Shields 87C
ei's picture
I-Tremblay, Erika
Lecturer
eitremblay@ucdavis.edu
Assistant Director, English for Multilingual Students
Shields 87C
lifespan development of writing, second language writing, ethnography
sojin's picture
Jin, Sophia
Continuing Lecturer
sojin@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 361
andyo's picture
Jones, Andy
Continuing Lecturer
aojones@ucdavis.edu

353 Voorhies
bnkelley's picture
Kelley, Britt
Lecturer
bnkelley@ucdavis.edu
lklotz's picture
Klotz, Lisa
Continuing Lecturer
lklotz@ucdavis.edu

381 Voorhies
Legal Reasoning and Writing; Early Modern English Law and Literature
kkurzer's picture
Kurzer, Kendon
Lecturer
kckurzer@ucdavis.edu
Associate Director, Undergraduate Writing
Shields 87c
Writing Across the Curriculum and multilingual writing, language/grammar support, multilingual writers in writing program administration contexts
jrlane's picture
Lane, Janet
Continuing Lecturer
jrlane@ucdavis.edu

87(A) Shields
Materials Development in Writing for Multilingual Students Responding to Writing of Multilingual Students Assessment and Training of International Teaching Assistants
srlester's picture
Lester, Shannah
Continuing Lecturer
srlester@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 383
emlore's picture
Lore, Elisabeth
Lecturer
emlore@ucdavis.edu

Via Zoom
French, Caribbean, Chicana/o, Multilingual Literature, and Mediating Literature, particularly in relation to immigration and identity construction.
mjmacart's picture
MacArthur, Marit
mjmacarthur@ucdavis.edu
WAC Consultant
87 Shields Libr
marco's picture
Magagnini, Stephen
Continuing Lecturer
stmagagnini@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 350
jamagnin's picture
Magnin, Jeff
Continuing Lecturer
jamagnin@ucdavis.edu

372 Voorhies
drmasiel's picture
Masiel, David
Continuing Lecturer
drmasiel@ucdavis.edu

390 Voorhies
mccollom's picture
McCollom, Elaine
Continuing Lecturer
mccollom@ucdavis.edu
Personnel Committee
Voorhies 368
sjmcdonn's picture
McDonnell, Sean
Continuing Lecturer
sjmcdonnell@ucdavis.edu

392 Voorhies
fzgiolla's picture
McElroy, James
Continuing Lecturer
jpmcelroy@ucdavis.edu

362 Voorhies
dkmeisen's picture
Meisenheimer, Donald
Continuing Lecturer
dkmeisenheimer@ucdavis.edu

359 Voorhies
glmiller's picture
Miller, Greg
Continuing Lecturer
glmiller@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 363
Creative Writing, Reviews, Critical Theory, Literature, Film Studies
hmilton's picture
Milton, Heather
Continuing Lecturer
hnmilton@ucdavis.edu

379 Voorhies
mbminiac's picture
Miniaci, Miles
Continuing Lecturer
mbminiaci@ucdavis.edu

N/A
rlm27's picture
Mitchell, Rebecca
Lecturer
rlmitchell@ucdavis.edu

https://ucdavisdss.zoom.us/j/4466705587
sylviam's picture
Morales, Sylvia
Lecturer
sylmorales@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 360
mjoliver's picture
Oliver, Matt
Continuing Lecturer
mjoliver@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 353
rkpadda's picture
Padda, Randeep
Continuing Lecturer
rkpadda@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 115
npearsa's picture
Pearsall, Beth
Lecturer
nepearsall@ucdavis.edu
Assistant Director, Entry-Level Writing
Zoom
mproctor's picture
Proctor, Mandy
Lecturer
mproctor@ucdavis.edu

376 Shields
brabie's picture
Rabie, Brigitte
Lecturer
brabie@ucdavis.edu

Shields 87C
bjrinard's picture
Rinard, Brenda
Continuing Lecturer
bjrinard@ucdavis.edu

311 Voorhies
karodger's picture
Rodger, Katie
Continuing Lecturer
karodger@ucdavis.edu

113 Voorhies
History of science and ecology; science writing
amross's picture
Ross, Andrea
Lecturer
amross@ucdavis.edu
Assistant Director, First-Year Composition
Shields 87C
schmidli's picture
Schmidli, Danielle
Continuing Lecturer
dmschmidli@ucdavis.edu
Personnel Committee
Voorhies 383
bsekedat's picture
Sekedat, Brad
Continuing Lecturer
bsekedat@ucdavis.edu

361 Voorhies
Mediterranean Archaeology; Place, Space, and Landscape; Governmentality; Multi-vocality; The role of materials in understanding human social interaction; Material Rhetoric
sotoole's picture
Sententia, Wrye
Continuing Lecturer
sotoole@ucdavis.edu

373 Voorhies
wjsewell's picture
Sewell, William
Continuing Lecturer
wjsewell@ucdavis.edu
Editor, Writing on the Edge
369 Voorhies
ls's picture
Sperber, Lisa
Continuing Lecturer
ldsperber@ucdavis.edu
Co-Director, Area 3 Writing Project
309 Voorhies
agnstark's picture
Stark, Agnes
Continuing Lecturer
agnstark@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 115
ecstrand's picture
Strandjord, Erika
Lecturer
ecstrandjord@ucdavis.edu

Shields 89
I research community-building rhetoric through the lenses of feminist, cultural, and craft rhetorics.
tnwalsh's picture
Walsh, Theresa
Continuing Lecturer
tnwalsh@ucdavis.edu
Assistant Director, Online Writing Instruction
354 Voorhies
kjwalton's picture
Waltonen, Karma
Continuing Lecturer
kjwaltonen@ucdavis.edu

355 Voorhies
Rhetoric and Composition, Margaret Atwood, Science Fiction/Fantasy, The Simpsons, Humor and Satire, Stand-Up, Narrative Medicine, Shakespeare, Drama, Popular Culture, Graphic Novels, 20th and 21st C Anglophone Literature
amwhit's picture
Whitaker, Anne
Lecturer
amwhit@ucdavis.edu

Shields 87C
natew59's picture
Williams, Nathaniel
Continuing Lecturer
ntlwilliams@ucdavis.edu

363 Voorhies
Science and Technical Communication, American Literature and Culture, Science Fiction
Name / Email / Office Research Areas
lslanfer's picture
Lanfersieck, Lindsey
Lecturer
lslanfersieck@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 307
srawilli's picture
Williams, Serena
Lecturer
srawilliams@ucdavis.edu