Faculty

Professors (Academic Senate Faculty)
Name / Email / Office Research Areas
rebekka's picture
Andersen, Rebekka
Associate Professor
randersen@ucdavis.edu
Associate Director, Writing in the Professions / Faculty Advisor, Professional Writing Minor
365 Voorhies
Technical communication, focusing on the content discipline and academia-industry partnerships; professional writing research, pedagogy, and internships; multimodal literacies; research-practice/theory-practice connections
kching's picture
Ching, Kory Lawson
Associate Professor
kching@ucdavis.edu
Associate Director, Online Writing Instruction
Voorhies 385
writing technologies, digital literacies, composition pedagogy, teacher preparation, qualitative research methods, socio-cultural theories of literacy and learning
drferris's picture
Ferris, Dana
Professor
drferris@ucdavis.edu

357 Voorhies OR
second language literacy, teacher preparation, responding to student writing
jmarx's picture
Marx, John
jmarx@ucdavis.edu
Interim Director of the University Writing Program
dlmelzer's picture
Melzer, Dan
Professor
dlmelzer@ucdavis.edu
Associate Director, First-Year Composition / Personnel Committee
377 Voorhies
writing across the curriculum, writing program administration, response and assessment
pcservis's picture
Serviss, Trish
Associate Professor
pcserviss@ucdavis.edu
Associate Director, Entry-Level Writing
358 Voorhies
developmental writing, academic source use, writing placement & assessment, feminist rhetorical practices, writing program design and administration, teacher preparation, longitudinal literacy development (1st Gen STEM majors), hybrid research methods.
lvidalch's picture
Vidal Chiesa, Laura
lvidalch@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 371
Writing Program Administration, Emotional Labor, Feminist Theory
whithaus's picture
Whithaus, Carl
Professor
cwwhithaus@ucdavis.edu
Associate Director of the University Writing Program / Chair for the DE in Writing, Rhetoric, and Composition Studies / Associate Director, Writing in the Disciplines
Voorhies 117
Writing Technologies; Digital Cultures; Writers and their Writing Processes; Science Writing, including Writing in Agriculture; Writing Assessment; Professional and Technical Writing; Multimodal Composition; Critical Pedagogy; the Pacific Rim (Writing and Globalization); Writing and RPGs; Rhetorics and Poetics; Histories of Books and Publishing
Lecturers (Academic Federation Faculty)
Name / Email / Office Research Areas
sashaabr's picture
Abramsky, Sasha
Continuing Lecturer
sabramsky@ucdavis.edu

350 Voorhies
I specialize in political reporting and social justice journalism, with an emphasis on reporting on poverty, immigration, the criminal justice system. My book The American Way of Poverty was listed as one of the New York Times' 100 Notable Books of the Year, establishing me as a national expert on poverty and on ways of giving voice to those living in poverty. I also write extensively on both documented and undocumented immigration. I am a political correspondent and columnist for the Nation, and am now their west coast correspondent; I have a long track-reoord of writing both about national and also state politics.
kenander's picture
Andersen, Ken
Continuing Lecturer
kenandersen@ucdavis.edu

112 Voorhies
ktflake's picture
Arosteguy, Katie
Continuing Lecturer
karosteguy@ucdavis.edu
WAC Consultant
114 Voorhies
writing in education; teacher preparation/education; k-12 literacy & tutor preparation; rhetorical approaches to writing in the disciplines; professional writing
jazevedo's picture
Azevedo, Jillian
Continuing Lecturer
jazevedo@ucdavis.edu
Editor, Prized Writing
369 Voorhies
Early Modern History; Women’s History; Writing in History; Writing in Social Justice; Higher Education in Prison
jbeal's picture
Beal, Jane
Continuing Lecturer
jbeal@ucdavis.edu
mmbender's picture
Bender, Melissa
Continuing Lecturer
mmbender@ucdavis.edu

311 Voorhies
Writing pedagogy with special interest in rhetorical approaches to disciplinary composition and source work; rhetoric of health and medicine; visual and material rhetoric; the rhetoric of public history; U.S. memoir and life writing.
asbright's picture
Bright, Alison
Continuing Lecturer
asbright@ucdavis.edu
WAC Consultant
309 Voorhies
writing program administration; writing across the curriculum; writing centers; tutor preparation; teacher identity; the professional development of teacher/writers
drcarp's picture
Carpenter, Russ
Lecturer
carpenter@ucdavis.edu
WAC Consultant
Science communication, scientific posters, STEM teaching, writing center pedagogy, neuroscience, animal behavior, behavioral neuroscience, stress, learning and memory
kmcaslin's picture
Caslin, Kate
Continuing Lecturer
kmcaslin@ucdavis.edu

368 Voorhies
Second Language Writing, Second Language Acquisition
pcchisum's picture
Chisum, Pamela
pcchisum@ucdavis.edu
Indigenous and digital rhetoric, Composition, ELL
dlolseen's picture
Collins, Daina
Continuing Lecturer
dlcollins@ucdavis.edu
Personnel Committee
ZOOM
kacrosby's picture
Crosby, Kelly
Continuing Lecturer
kacrosby@ucdavis.edu

Zoom
Second language writing, writing assessment, curriculum design, literacy pedagogy
cindavis's picture
Davis, Cindy
Lecturer
cindavis@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 367
led's picture
de Genova, Lindsey
Lecturer
ldegenova@ucdavis.edu

Shields 87C-18
Community Building in FYC, Queer Theory, Feminist Rhetoric
bdemchuk's picture
Demchuk, Dana
Lecturer
bdemchuk@ucdavis.edu
Assistant Director, English for Multilingual Students
Voorhies 372
smyrni's picture
Dragona, Aliki
Continuing Lecturer
apdragona@ucdavis.edu

375 Voorhies
jcelias's picture
Elias, Julian
Continuing Lecturer
jelias@ucdavis.edu
academic literacy, multilingual writing, writing across the curriculum, second language acquisition
ktevans's picture
Evans, Katherine
ktevans@ucdavis.edu

Shields 87C
sefaye's picture
Faye, Sarah
Continuing Lecturer
sefaye@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 360
Contract grading and assessment, disability studies, the rhetoric of Health and Medicine, the history of Technical Communication, student-centered pedagogy.
tegeier's picture
Geier, Ted
tegeier@ucdavis.edu
Animals, Environment, Film, Literature, Interdisciplinary Humanities, Cultural History, Critical Theory & Philosophy, Business Culture & Consumerism, Legal Studies, Disney
plgonzal's picture
Gonzalez-Gomez, Paulina
Lecturer
plgonzalezgomez@ucdavis.edu

Shields Library 87C
goodbide's picture
Goodman-Bide, Amy
Lecturer
agoodmanbide@ucdavis.edu

Shields 87C
science writing, healthcare communication, writing across the curriculum, multilingual writing, language and social interaction
cmgubala's picture
Gubala, Carolyn
Lecturer
cmgubala@ucdavis.edu
Assistant Director of Online Writing Instruction
Shields Library, Room 87C
Technical communication, including editing and data visualizations; field-wide programmatic and pedagogical studies.
cahatzak's picture
Hatzakos, Catherine
Lecturer
cahatzakos@ucdavis.edu
Associate Director, English for Multilingual Students
Voorhies 370
chemstro's picture
Hemstrom, Cassie
Continuing Lecturer
chemstrom@ucdavis.edu
Program Assessment Coordinator
Voorhies 381
Community-based writing, rhetorical approaches to genre and audience, information literacy and writing pedagogy, identity theory and critical race theory.
mcherrer's picture
Herrera, Maria
Lecturer
mcherreraas@ucdavis.edu
ypssucd's picture
Herring, Scott
Continuing Lecturer
srherring@ucdavis.edu

356 Voorhies
jbhorton's picture
Horton, Joseph
Continuing Lecturer
jbhorton@ucdavis.edu
ei's picture
I-Tremblay, Erika
Lecturer
eitremblay@ucdavis.edu
First-Year Writing Placement Coordinator
Voorhies 366
lifespan development of writing, second language writing, ethnography
sojin's picture
Jin, Sophia
Continuing Lecturer
sojin@ucdavis.edu
Language as a political act in refugee communities, Language imperialism, Multilingualism, Second Language Acquisition
bmjohnst's picture
Johnston, Brendan
bmjohnston@ucdavis.edu

Shields 87C-1
Writing Studies and Pedagogy; Science and Technology Studies; Materialism (historical and scientific); Decolonial Studies; Film and Media Studies; Modernism and Poetics; Transnational American Literature; Literature and the Environment; Diversity in Higher Education (curriculum and access).
andyo's picture
Jones, Andy
Continuing Lecturer
aojones@ucdavis.edu

353 Voorhies
Computers and composition, journalism, new and digital media, writing in education, creativity, writing motivation, independent publishing.
lklotz's picture
Klotz, Lisa
Continuing Lecturer
lklotz@ucdavis.edu
Legal Reasoning and Writing; Early Modern English Law and Literature
kkurzer's picture
Kurzer, Kendon
Lecturer
kckurzer@ucdavis.edu
Associate Director, Writing Across the Curriculum--Undergraduate / Entry Level Writing Peer Educators (UWP 197T)
Voorhies 350
Writing Across the Curriculum and multilingual writing, language/grammar support, multilingual writers in writing program administration contexts Select Research Publications: (2022). Accuracy gains from unfocused feedback: Dynamic Written Corrective Feedback as meaningful pedagogy. Journal of Language and Education. (2021). More than just grammar deficiencies: Moving faculty in the disciplines toward a difference-as-resource pedagogical paradigm. In E. Lee, N. Fahim, J. Johnson, and B. R. Schreiber (Eds.), Building a more linguistically just campus: Theory, pedagogy, and advocacy. (2018). Student perceptions of dynamic written corrective feedback in developmental multilingual writing classes. Journal of Response to Writing. (2018). Dynamic written corrective feedback in developmental ESL writing classes. TESOL Quarterly. Ferris, D. R., Evans, K., & Kurzer, K. (2017). Placement of multilingual writers: Is there a role for directed self-placement? Assessing Writing.
jrlane's picture
Lane, Janet
Continuing Lecturer
jrlane@ucdavis.edu

87(A) Shields
Materials Development in Writing for Multilingual Students Responding to Writing of Multilingual Students Assessment and Training of International Teaching Assistants
shayne14's picture
Langford, Daniel
dslangford@ucdavis.edu
srlester's picture
Lester, Shannah
Continuing Lecturer
srlester@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 383
Multimodal Feedback and its Implications with Multilingual Writers; Second Language Curriculum Design, Professional Writing and Multimodal Composition; Culture, Writing, and Rhetorical Implications; Professional Writing and Multicultural Communication ; Rhetoric of Social Media; Teaching Writing Online, Hybrid and Asynchronous Modalities; Visual Rhetoric in Digital Writing Environments
emlore's picture
Lore, Elisabeth
Continuing Lecturer
emlore@ucdavis.edu

Zoom
French, Caribbean, Chicana/o, Multilingual Literature, and Mediating Literature, particularly in relation to immigration and identity construction.
mjmacart's picture
MacArthur, Marit
Lecturer
mjmacarthur@ucdavis.edu
Associate Director for Writing Across the Curriculum--Grad
Digital voice studies, Writing Across the Curriculum (WAC), AI/LLMs and writing, first-generation support, collaborative & interdisciplinary research and writing, open-source software development, performance studies, cultural analytics, 20th century poetry and the Anglo-American poetic tradition
marco's picture
Magagnini, Stephen
Continuing Lecturer
stmagagnini@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 367
jamagnin's picture
Magnin, Jeff
Emeritus Lecturer
jamagnin@ucdavis.edu
mccollom's picture
McCollom, Elaine
Continuing Lecturer
mccollom@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 368
sjmcdonn's picture
McDonnell, Sean
Continuing Lecturer
sjmcdonnell@ucdavis.edu

392 Voorhies
dkmeisen's picture
Meisenheimer, Donald
Continuing Lecturer
dkmeisenheimer@ucdavis.edu

359 Voorhies
annemm's picture
Michaels, Ann
Lecturer
amichaels@ucdavis.edu
glmiller's picture
Miller, Greg
Continuing Lecturer
glmiller@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 363
Composition Studies, Interdisciplinary Writing, Creative Writing, Creative Non-Fiction, Journalism, Literary Reviews, Film Studies, Critical Theory, Literature
hmilton's picture
Milton, Heather
Continuing Lecturer
hnmilton@ucdavis.edu

379 Voorhies
mbminiac's picture
Miniaci, Miles
Continuing Lecturer
mbminiaci@ucdavis.edu

Shields Lower L
rlm27's picture
Mitchell, Rebecca
Continuing Lecturer
rlmitchell@ucdavis.edu
armoore's picture
Moore, Alison
Lecturer
armoore@ucdavis.edu

Shields 87C
rhetoric and composition; antiracist writing pedagogies; intersectional feminist theory and practice; diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) & social justice; critical literacies; & writing across the curriculum
sylviam's picture
Morales, Sylvia
Continuing Lecturer
sylmorales@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 360
Composition and Rhetoric, Pedagogy, Technical & Professional Communication, Genre Analysis, Contract Grading, Learning Transfer
almorris's picture
Morris, Angela
Lecturer
almorris@ucdavis.edu
cniu's picture
Niu, Catherine
Lecturer
cniu@ucdavis.edu

Shields Library 87C
mjoliver's picture
Oliver, Matt
Continuing Lecturer
mjoliver@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 353
rkpadda's picture
Padda, Randeep
Continuing Lecturer
rkpadda@ucdavis.edu

Zoom
npearsa's picture
Pearsall, Beth
Lecturer
nepearsall@ucdavis.edu

Zoom
rkpokhar's picture
Pokharel, Ramesh
Lecturer
rkpokharel@ucdavis.edu

Voohries 107
Rhetorical Situation, Second Language Writing, TESOL
mproctor's picture
Proctor, Mandy
Lecturer
mproctor@ucdavis.edu
Assistant Director, Entry-Level Writing
376 Voorhies
djquinn's picture
Quinn, DJ
Lecturer
djquinn@ucdavis.edu

390 Voorhees
brabie's picture
Rabie, Brigitte
Lecturer
brabie@ucdavis.edu

Shields 87C
farramir's picture
Ramirez, Fairuze Ahmed
Lecturer
farramirez@ucdavis.edu
bjrinard's picture
Rinard, Brenda
Continuing Lecturer
bjrinard@ucdavis.edu
Personnel Committee
karodger's picture
Rodger, Katie
Continuing Lecturer
karodger@ucdavis.edu
Internship Coordinator (UWP 92/192)
113 Voorhies
Science communication; professional science writing; environmental science writing; science journalism
amross's picture
Ross, Andrea
Lecturer
amross@ucdavis.edu
Personnel Committee
Voorhies 361
schmidli's picture
Schmidli, Danielle
Continuing Lecturer
dmschmidli@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 383
second language writing; peer and teacher feedback; international graduate writing, reading, and oral skills; curriculum development; building students' transferable skills; program administration;
sotoole's picture
Sententia, Wrye
Continuing Lecturer
sotoole@ucdavis.edu

373 Voorhies
wjsewell's picture
Sewell, William
Continuing Lecturer
wjsewell@ucdavis.edu
Associate Director, Advanced Composition / WOE Editor (UWP 280)
Zoom
Technical & professional communication. Classical, material, visual, and sensory rhetorics. Computers and technology. Graphic design. UX & Usability. Online instruction. Instructional Design. Narrative. Creative Nonfiction. Prose style.
ls's picture
Sperber, Lisa
Continuing Lecturer
ldsperber@ucdavis.edu
Personnel Committee
309 Voorhies
Teaching and research interests include Writing with AI, Writing Assessment, Writing Across the Curriculum, Labor-based contract grading, learning transfer, graduate writing and writing in K-12 contexts.
agnstark's picture
Stark, Agnes
Continuing Lecturer
agnstark@ucdavis.edu
UDCE Coordinator
Voorhies 115
Teaching Areas: Writing in the Health Professions; Advanced Composition; English for Multilingual Writers // Research Areas: Special topics in Social Justice & Health; Narrative Medicine; Special Topics in Mental Health; Environmental Justice & Equity; Ethics in Science; Linguistics for TESOL // Personal Writing Interests: Essayist; Poet; Writer of Short Stories. // Personal Reading Interests: Contemporary Latin American Literature by Women Writers // Bilingual English & Spanish
ecstrand's picture
Strandjord, Erika
Lecturer
ecstrandjord@ucdavis.edu

Voorhies 376
I research community-building rhetoric through the lenses of feminist, cultural, and craft rhetorics.
cwallis's picture
Wallis, Wally
cjwallis@ucdavis.edu

285 Voorhies
Gender and sexuality in early modern literature and culture
tnwalsh's picture
Walsh, Theresa
Continuing Lecturer
tnwalsh@ucdavis.edu

Zoom
medical humanities, rhetorics of health and medicine, narrative medicine, rhetorics of science, composition & rhetoric, intersectionality, queer phenomenology, affect, sensory rhetoric, comedy studies, humor studies, health equity, cultural humility, safety, and structural competence, teaching writing in online, hybrid, and hyflex modalities
kjwalton's picture
Waltonen, Karma
Continuing Lecturer
kjwaltonen@ucdavis.edu

355 Voorhies
Rhetoric and Composition, Margaret Atwood, Science Fiction/Fantasy, The Simpsons, Humor and Satire, Stand-Up, Narrative Medicine, Shakespeare, Drama, Popular Culture, Graphic Novels, 20th and 21st C Anglophone Literature Dr. Karma has specialized training in theatre, film, feminist theory, and anti-racist pedagogy, in addition to professional certification in online teaching.
amwhit's picture
Whitaker, Anne
Lecturer
amwhit@ucdavis.edu

372 Voorhies
natew59's picture
Williams, Nathaniel
Continuing Lecturer
ntlwilliams@ucdavis.edu

363 Voorhies
Science and Technical Communication, American Literature and Culture, Science Fiction, Genre and Rhetoric