Rebekka Andersen Chairs SIGDOC 2017 and Presents Workshops on State of Education in Technical Communication

Image of Banner for SIGDOC 2017 Website

In August, Rebekka Andersen chaired SIGDOC 2017, the Association for Computing Machinery’s Special Interest Group on the Design of Communication Conference, held in Halifax, Nova Scotia. SIGDOC 2017 featured keynotes by Dr. Karel Vredenburg, lead designer at IBM, and Rigo award winner Dr. Karen Schriver, President of KSA Communication Design & Research, and author of the foundational text Dynamics in Document Design.


Melissa Bender Publishes Translated Book

Melissa Bender's book project, La Caricature 1830-1835, is now in print. La Caricature 1830-1835 is a collection of 19th century French political cartoons. Melissa translated and wrote the English language descriptions of the cartoons. They were originally published in a satire newspaper (La Caricature), which is now considered to be the precursor of Charlie Hebdo. The book is under consideration for a fine arts publication award in France. 


Karma Waltonen Publishes Article in DePaul Pop Culture Book

Karma Waltonen's article, "My First Frontier--A Celebration of Fifty Years of Star Trek," has been published in Time Lords & Tribbles, Winchesters & Muggles: The DePaul Pop Culture Conference. All proceeds for the book go to Global Girl Media, an organization dedicated to empowering high school age girls from under-served communities around the world through media, leadership and journalistic training to have a voice in the global media universe and their own futures. 


Dana Ferris Publishes Articles in Assessing Writing and RTE

Professor Dana Ferris has recently published two journal articles, both co-authored with current or former students of the WRaCS Designated Emphasis. Both articles report upon primary research completed in the UWP. The first, "Placement of Multilingual Writers: Is There a Role for Student Voices?" was published in Assessing Writing, 32(1), 1-11, and is co-authored by 2017 graduates Dr. Katherine Evans (Linguistics) and Kendon Kurzer (Education).