Professors

Name / Title / Email Office / Office Hours / Phone Research Areas
rebekka's picture
Andersen, Rebekka
Associate Professor
randersen@ucdavis.edu
Coordinator for Professional Writing
365 Voorhies
by appt. for online meetings (on research sabbatical fall 2018)
(530) 754-6903
Technical communication, focusing on content management and academia-industry partnerships; professional writing research and pedagogy; multimodal literacies; research-practice/theory-practice connections
kching's picture
Ching, Kory Lawson
Assistant Professor
kching@ucdavis.edu
Chair for the DE in Writing, Rhetoric, and Composition Studies
Voorhies 385
T 2:00-3:00 & by appt.
writing technologies, digital literacies, composition pedagogy, teacher preparation, qualitative research methods, socio-cultural theories of literacy and learning
drferris's picture
Ferris, Dana
Professor
drferris@ucdavis.edu
Director of the University Writing Program
116 Voorhies
Student hours: T 11:00-11:50 a.m., R 1:40-2:40 p.m., & by appt.
(530) 752-0369
second language literacy, teacher preparation, responding to student writing
dlmelzer's picture
Melzer, Dan
Associate Professor
dlmelzer@ucdavis.edu
Associate Director for Expository Writing (UWP 1)
377 Voorhies
T 2:00-300, R 12:00-2:00 & by appt.
530-754-2690
writing across the curriculum, writing program administration, multiliteracies
tinker's picture
Perrault, Sarah
Associate Professor
sperrault@ucdavis.edu
Shields
T 10:30-12:30 & by appt.
Rhetoric of science, focusing on public science communication, Writing pedagogy, with a special interest in applying insights and strategies from rhetoric and composition in cross-disciplinary contexts (including general education and Writing Across the Curriculum)
pcservis's picture
Serviss, Trish
Assistant Professor
pcserviss@ucdavis.edu
Associate Director for ELW
358 Voorhies
Tuesdays 1-3 & by appointment
530.754.2674
writing program administration, longitudinal literacy development (source use, argumentation, cultural rhetorics, community writing, 1st Gen writer development, writing education in undergraduate STEM), research methods
whithaus's picture
Whithaus, Carl
Professor
cwwhithaus@ucdavis.edu
371 Voorhies
by appt.
(530) 752-0778
writing assessment, literacy and technology, writing program administration